Nike Popoola, two other Nigerians, Ghanians, Kenyans Egyptians for Reinsurance Journalism Awards

Please share
By Favour Nnabugwu
The Pan-African (Re)Insurance Journalism Awards 2022 organised by Continental Reinsurance Plc have shortlisted close to 20 journalists from 10 African countries for the Awards
Picked from close to 100 submissions from 22 of the continent’s nations in this year’s competition, illustrates how insurance can benefit individuals and societies at large.
Nike Popoola of Punch Newspapers and two other Nigerians for the Awards.The entries to the awards programme, now in its 7th year, were evaluated by a jury of insurance industry leaders and prominent members of Africa’s business media.
“The top entries were very competitive, covering topical issues, and combining the industry’s role in building trust, responding to risks and committing to sustained growth, with compelling human interest angles and strong narratives,” comments broadcaster and Head of the Jury, Michael Wilson.
For the first time, the awards welcomed entries in Arabic, which contributed to a rise in submissions by 37 percent
Winners will be unveiled at the 2022 awards ceremony, will be announced in Lagos, Nigeria, on 29th July 2022.
“Winners will not only walk away with cash prizes and a fully paid trip to the awards ceremony in Lagos, Nigeria but with the added benefit of knowing they are playing a vital part in elevating societies and stimulating progress amongst communities across Africa,” Michael concludes.
Shortlisted entries
Best entry Print category (English)
1)      Tunde Ajaja, Nigeria
2)      David Njagi, Kenya
3)      Nelson Mandela Muhoozi, Uganda
4)      Isaac Khisa, Uganda
5)      Nike Popoola, Nigeria
Best entry Broadcast category (English)
1)      Beldeen Waliaula, Kenya
2)      Mercy Tyra Murengu, Kenya
3)      Benadetta Chiwanda Mia, Malawi
4)      Destiny Abanyem Onyemihia, Nigeria
5)      Carolyne Tomno and Brian Tuva, Kenya
Best entry Online category (English)
1)      Felix Dela Klutse, Ghana
2)      Nike Popoola, Nigeria
3)      Prosper Ndlovu, Zimbabwe
4)      Steve Umidha, Kenya
5)      Odimegwu Onwumere, Nigeria
Best entry Arabic category (print, broadcast or online)
1)      Atif Fahim Mahrous, Egypt
2)      Maher Fadl Hanna, Egypt
3)      Eslam Abdulhameed, Egypt
4)      Chadli Gomma, Egypt
Best entry French category (print, broadcast or online)
1)      El Karmouni Ghassan Waïl, Morocco
2)      Ouedraogo Patinema Oumar, BurkinaFaso
3)      Aurélie M’bida, France

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *